Some conceptual questions about AppMaster

Hi

I suscribed to AppMaster, looking for an alternative to Mendix and OutSystems.
I am an experienced High-Code Developer and Software Architect, mainly working with ASP.NET Core.
After reading your BLOG and some documentation, I have some conceptual questions about AppMaster:

• Does AppMaster support external ( legacy ) databases or only embedded databases?
  • Does AppMaster create APIs for the database? Including OpenAPI ( or similar ) documentation?
  • In the following page you mention MySQL and PostgreSQL, but, as far as I know, you use PostgreSQL: right?
  • You define AppMaster as “No-Code”, not “Low-Code” like Mendix and OutSystems.
    Is there any way to extend AppMaster applications using CODE or writing a Plugin/Extension/Module?
  • When I open a Project I see a “Hosted by: Eastern Europe (SPB)”: is there any USA option?
  • May I deploy the project with my own domain?

Thanks

Hi @Siegmar
Here are our answers:

1. Currently, we support embedded DB (aka backend primary DB) only - PostgreSQL. Every deployed app uses this type of DB, and if you host on-premise, you will need to have PG14+ in your infrastructure. Technically, we have ORM under the hood that supports MySQL, MariaDB, MSSQL and SQLite, but we never enabled those DBs. Connections to the external DBs are in progress and will be ready around Jan 2024.

2. You can create logic functions - we call them Business Processes and attach them to endpoints. Yes, you can directly expose DB functions to the endpoints if yo need to, but usually, our users build fully featured functions where DB calls are just a small portion of the logic. For each backend app, we generate swagger.

3. Yes, PostgreSQL, but some time later we will enable other types of RDBMS.